top of page
  • Writer's pictureKevin Williams

Commissioned To Go

Ephesians 6:10-20 "Finally, my brethren, be strong in the Lord and in the power of His might. Put on the whole armor of God, that you may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil. For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this age, against spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places. Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand. Stand therefore, having girded your waist with truth, having put on the breastplate of righteousness, and having shod your feet with the preparation of the gospel of peace..."


"Having your feet shod with the preparation of the gospel of peace..." The Whole purpose of the gospel's preparation is that it is to GO somewhere. That is why it's "preparation" is associated with "the feet." If the Gospel's preparation were primarily for reverential contemplation and armchair theology and religious notions it would be associated with the HEAD and not THE FEET. This also conveys that it is most effectively learned as you go, that WE are being prepared, on the job training and "Earn as you learn" as is the Logo of many pregnancy centers. Not that it its preparation is "Only" as you go because We see in the gospels Jesus going up to the mountain alone to pray in solitude to the Father. I LOVE the way the old Puritan Theologian John Owen said it "What a man is...alone...on bended knee...in secret prayer before Almighty God is what a man is...and no more." I think when the Holy Spirit inspired Paul to write these words to the Ephesians He foresaw that many would limit their Gospel preparation to mental gymnastics and much reading and talking and typing and not enough "going." I know because I've been there. It is when I started going to the death mill and into the public square that what was in my head traveled down about sixteen inches to my heart.


Of course we are commanded to "Not forsake the assembling together of the the saints..." And to "DO THIS in remembrance of Me..." Most often we hear at the dismissal "GO and announce the gospel." Or "GO in peace glorifying the Lord by your life" etc. I think of this more as a "Commissioning to Go" Than a "Dismissal" from "Having been."


In My Bible margin beside this text I had written Ezekiel 13:5 and then I flopped my Bible right to that page (I know what THAT means) 😊 so I better include it! "You have not gone up into the gaps to build a wall for the house of Israel to stand in battle on the day of the Lord." Ezekiel 13:5

Thank you all for your prayers. Love you guys!!!

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page