top of page
  • Writer's pictureKevin Williams

A Life Of Suffering - Full Of Faith

An errand took me close to a cemetery by where I used to live. There is a beautiful view of the mountains there and awesome sunsets. I used to go there and read the various headstone poems and verses. There is a particular headstone that always used to grab me. It had the picture of a beautiful little girl who only lived to 7 years old. It had a magnificent poem on it I read many times. It seems that the girl's smile changed the lives of her parents. Much like Sharon's smile I wrote about in her tribute.


About a hundred feet away I noticed a headstone with a name that seemed very familiar. A Bonnie and William Spicer. The first time I saw it I noticed that William had not died yet. I thought "Why does Bill Spicer seem so familiar?" Then I remembered that a man at a Christian Men's group had given me his name and number only about about a week before. Then I remembered that his wife had died recently so I called him. I said "Bill, I think I may be looking at you and your wife's head stone in the cemetery by Wellington. He said "Yep, that is me and my wife." I asked him. "Bill have you ever read the heart shaped headstone on a little girls grave near yours? He said "Yes! My kids were friends with her. She had an extended illness and my kids participated in fundraiser walks for her." Bill went on to say; "That little girl was so Brave and inspiring and full of Faith and Love for God! She never complained even though she underwent a life of suffering." He went on to say that before her death that she had been in a coma for several weeks. One day she came out of the coma, smiled and pointed to the corner of the room and said "LOOK, There He is!" Then she closed her eyes and died.


This is the poem on her headstone.

In a world where perfectness is often unseen Where heaven and angels are only a dream God sent us you

We had only to touch you to see your smile To know that you were a very special child Like a small perfect rose grown in winters cold You brought us the sunshine and pleasures untold

And like the rose you could not be kept When God took you home we bitterly wept Now we look back and remember with pride The love and the courage you just could not hide

You taught us of laughter, of tears and of giving You brought us to terms with our lives and of living Our lives have been changed by a smile

Perfect rose we will love you forever Til our lives here are through And we can once again be forever with you

Wow!



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page